The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

Asian Forest Cooperation Organization — Landmark Scholarship Program

The Asian Forest Cooperation Organization (AFoCO) calls for applications for the “2023-2024 Landmark Scholarship Program”. AFoCO will select one candidate for doctoral degree course and three candidates for a master’s degree course. Applicants must be citizens of ASEAN Member Countries, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand or Vietnam. The nomination deadlines are 15 March 2023 (doctoral degree course) and 31 May 2023 (master’s degree course). Landmark Scholarship Program

Government of India — Indo-Australia Joint Research Program

The Governments of India and Australia invite joint research projects by researchers of both countries. The aim is to encourage scientific and technological cooperation between the two countries. Proposals for joint research in renewable energy are eligible. The fund will cover research expenses, exchange of visits for research projects, and workshops. The deadline for the submission of proposals is 15 March 2023. Find the call

Massachusetts Institute of Technology — Water Innovation Prize 2023

The MIT Water Innovation Prize is a startup competition focused on water innovation. Submitted projects must involve a technology, product, service, or process aimed at solving a problem related to the world’s water challenges. Entering teams must include at least one student who is fully enrolled at any college or university. There are no restrictions regarding nationality. Winners will be awarded innovation grants of up to US$50 thousand. The application deadline for the statement of intent is 20 March 2023. Water Innovation Prize

Acumen Academy — Artisanal Fisheries Leadership Program

Acumen Academy and the Environmental Defense Fund launch a Latin American Artisanal Fisheries Leadership Program for Change Agents leading equitable and sustainable fisheries initiatives. The program is open to leaders with at least 5 years of experience leading artisanal fishing organizations or initiatives or within fishing communities. The program offers leadership training and a strong community to develop future projects. The program only accepts applications from change agents from the artisanal fishing industry working in any Latin American country, including Caribbean countries. Applications have to be submitted by 21 March 2023. Artisanal Fisheries Leadership Program LAC

United Nations — Strategic Needs Fellowship

The Strategic Needs Fellowship aims to enable the most vulnerable States, particularly least developed countries, small island developing States and landlocked developing countries, to better address strategically important and time-sensitive issues facing them in ocean affairs and the law of the sea. The Fellowship consists of a four-month training program at the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea at the United Nations Headquarters in New York (USA). States are invited to nominate Government officials with limited background in ocean affairs and the law of the sea, who are filling key positions in their Administration for the position. The deadline for applications is 24 March 2023. Nippon Foundation Strategic Needs Fellowship

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit — Africa Fellowship Program

AFRIKA KOMMT! is a fellowship program that provides young African professionals with a one year career transformational experience at leading German companies. Participants receive management training followed by a 8-month fellowship in a partner company. The monthly allowance is € 750. The initiative is open to citizens from all countries in Africa. The application deadline is 26 March 2023. AFRIKA KOMMT!

Commonwealth Scholarship Commission — Distance Learning for Masters Courses in the UK

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support distance learning Master’s degree courses offered in partnership with local providers in developing countries, as well as courses delivered directly by UK universities. The available offerings include agriculture; tropical forestry; veterinary medicine; environmental management; conservation and wildlife management; risk and disaster management; and others. Eligibility for support extends to Commonwealth citizens of developing Commonwealth countries, refugees, and British protected persons. Applicants must be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country and meet the entry educational requirements. The application deadline is 28 March 2023. Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund — Biodiversity Conservation in the Mediterranean Basin

The Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund (CEPF) invites Letters of Inquiry (LOIs) for small grants (up to US$50 thousand) for projects that support the sustainable management of water catchments through integrated approaches for the conservation of threatened freshwater biodiversity in the Mediterranean Basin. Eligibility extends to non-governmental organizations, community groups, universities and private enterprises. The ecosystem profile technical summary is available in English, French, and Arabic. LOIs must be submitted by 28 March 2023. Click here

Campus France — Research in the Maghreb 2024

Partenariats Hubert Curien (PHC) du Maghreb supports research cooperation between France and Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia on renewable energy, environment and health, and other development topics. Each project can request up to €27 thousand per year. The announcement includes contact information in each participating country. The closing date for applications is 30 March 2023. About this opportunity

Village Capital — Ecosystem Restoration

Village Capital invites applications for the “Innovation for Ecosystem Restoration: LatAm 2023” accelerator. The  program addresses entrepreneurs championing forest restoration, restoration of aquatic production ecosystems and rewilding throughout Latin America. Participants will receive mentorship and access to an investment analyst. Eligibility extends to (for-profit) startups building locally viable ecosystem restoration solutions. The startup has to have legal incorporation and operations in at least one Latin American country. Applications close 31 March 2023. Know more