The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

Echoing Green — Fellowships 2024

Echoing Green helps emerging social entrepreneurs around the world with grants of seed capital and technical assistance to support their start-up organizations. Seed funding of up to US$80 thousand over 18 months is offered to for-profit organizations in the form of recoverable grants. Past fellowships include examples in renewable energy, waste management, smallholder farming, climate change, and other societal challenges in developing countries. Applications are due 02 November 2023. Echoing Green Fellowships

Center for International Forestry Research and World Agroforestry — Photo Competition

The Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) and World Agroforestry (ICRAF) seeks photographs that highlight the role of forests and trees in protecting the planet’s biodiversity. Entries can show trees in forests, on farms, in landscapes or any subject that depicts why trees matter to all forms of life on Earth. Participants can win up to US$500 and have their work displayed on CIFOR-ICRAF’s digital platforms. The competition is open to professional and amateur photographers from around the world. Entries must be submitted by 03 November 2023. Trees and Life Photo Competition

Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation — Environmental Photography Award

The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (PA2F) Environmental Photography Award aims to reward photographers who put their creativity to good use in raising awareness on environmental protection. Photographers are invited to reflect on our relationship towards nature and interrelation between human health and planetary health. Images can be entered in 5 categories: Polar Wonders, Beneath the Canopy, Life under the Surface, Humanity versus Nature, and Towards a Sustainable Future. The grand prize winner receives €5 thousand, each category winner receives €1 thousand. The closing date for entries is 05 November 2023. Environmental Photography Award

African Development Bank — African Youth Adaptation Solutions Challenge

The Global Center on Adaptation (GCA) and the African Development Bank (AfDB) seek to accelerate climate adaptation action under the African Adaptation Acceleration Program (AAAP). The program will support the commercialization of climate change adaptation solutions of youth entrepreneurs in Africa. The YouthADAPT Challenge is open to solutions (products, services, tools, or ideas) targeted at climate change adaptation and increasing resilience. AAAP awards a business grant of up to US$100 thousand to further develop the solution. Enterprises must be youth-led (applicants aged between 18 and 35 years) and legally registered and operating in Africa. The application deadline is 05 November 2023. Link to the YouthADAPT Challenge

International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development — Mountain Prize 2023

The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) seeks nominations for the 2023 Mountain Prize. The Prize is awarded to an individual or organization which has demonstrated outstanding efforts enabling sustainable and resilient mountain development in the Hindu Kush Himalayan region. The prize is currently set at US$ 2,500. Thematic areas include access to water for drinking or/and sanitation, food/nutrition security, climate change adaptation or/and disaster risk reduction, access to clean energy, ecosystems/biodiversity management, and two others. Women and youth are encouraged to apply. Nominations are accepted until 06 November 2023. Mountain Prize

Australian Government — Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australian government contributes to the education of talented individuals in developing countries through scholarship programs. Subject areas for study correspond to priorities of Australia’s aid programs by regions and countries — and include agriculture, energy, natural resources, and environment. Australian organizations can request funding of up to A$34,500 per Fellow. The call lists countries that are eligible for Australia Awards Scholarships, and country-specific eligibility criteria. Applications will close on 07 November 2023. Australia Awards Scholarships

Box Impact Fund — Digital Transformation to Save our Planet

The Box Impact Fund will award a total of US$150 thousand to six different non-profit organizations pursuing digital transformation projects. Each selected organization will receive a US$25 thousand grant to put their idea into action. The project category “Protecting the Planet” covers areas such as environmental protection, energy conservation, renewable energy, nature conservation, and biodiversity. The application deadline is 08 November 2023. Box Impact Fund

Imagine H2O — Accelerator Program 2024

Imagine H2O seeks innovative water solutions from anywhere in the world. Any company offering solutions for water access, safety, resilience or efficiency is welcome to apply. Selected candidates will have access to a network of industry executives, experts and entrepreneurs and showcase their ideas during a week-long bootcamp at the Water Innovation Week. Participants will receive cash awards and in-kind donations from strategic partners. Deadline for applications is 08 November 2023. For more information, visit the Imagine H2O Accelerator Program

ACT Foundation — Grant Cycle 2024

The Aspire Coronation Trust (ACT) Foundation accepts applications from national and regional non-profit organizations working to address social, environmental, and economic challenges across the African Continent. Focus areas include health, environment, leadership, and entrepreneurship. Proposed projects must have a maximum life cycle of 12 months and benefit African communities. The application deadline is 10 November 2023. Details here

CNN Academy — Climate Storytelling Program

CNN Academy and The Rockefeller Foundation seek 15 driven young journalists across the Global South who are dedicated to shedding light on the profound effects of the climate crisis within their home countries. Selected climate storytellers will attend a comprehensive media training program delivered by CNN Academy that covers various aspects of climate change reporting. At the conclusion of the program, participants will produce a compelling short documentary spotlighting the impact of the climate crisis. Selected participants will receive full sponsorship to attend the media training program, which includes travel expenses, accommodation, training materials, and meals during the program. The application deadline is 15 November 2023. Climate Storytelling Program