The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

World Academy of Sciences — TWAS-LUMS Postgraduate Fellowship

The Lahore University of Management Sciences and TWAS offer fellowships to young scientists from developing countries (other than Pakistan) who wish to pursue research towards a PhD in Natural Sciences and Engineering. The Fellowship may be granted for a maximum period of five years. LUMS will provide a monthly stipend which should be used to cover living costs, such as food, accommodation, and local transportation. Applicants should be a maximum age of 35 years and hold a Master’s degree in a field of natural sciences. The deadline for receipt of applications is 13 March 2024. TWAS-LUMS

Oak Spring Garden Foundation — Plant Conservation Biology Fellowship

The Oak Spring Garden Foundation awards Fellowships in Plant Conservation Biology to one early-career practitioner working on issues related to plant and landscape conservation. The award includes a US$10 thousand individual grant and requires a 2 to 8-week stay at Oak Spring (USA). Applicants must be early-career practitioners, scholars, or scientists, not enrolled in an undergraduate degree program in 2025. The deadline for applications is 31 May 2024. Details here

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation — Research Fellowship for Brazilian Postdoctoral Researchers

The Capes-Humboldt Research Fellowship supports postdoctoral researchers and experienced researchers from Brazil with their research in collaboration with a host at a German research institution. Fellowships may last from 6 to 18 months and can be divided into up to three stays within three years. The monthly fellowship amount is €2,600. The next application deadline is 31 May 2024. More here

United Nations Development Program — Equator Prize 2024

The Equator Prize 2024 recognizes innovative initiatives from Indigenous peoples and local communities that demonstrate exceptional achievements in nature-based solutions for local sustainable development. Nominated projects may focus on solutions for sustainable food systems, restoration of ecosystems that help communities adapt to the impacts of climate change, or protection of terrestrial or marine ecosystems, biodiversity, and wildlife. Special consideration will be given to nominees working on water security and disaster risk reduction. The nominated initiative must have been in existence for at least three years. Each winner will receive US$10 thousand. Nominations must be submitted by 26 February 2024. Equator Prize

Swedish Institute — Scholarships for Global Professionals

The Swedish Institute (SI) provides fully-funded international scholarships for master’s studies in Sweden. The scholarship for global professionals aims to develop future global leaders who will contribute to the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and contribute to positive and sustainable development in their home countries. The scholarship is intended for full-time one-year or two-year master’s programs. SI fully covers tuition fees and makes regular payments of SEK12 thousand to cover living expenses throughout the scholarship. The application portal will close on 28 February 2024. SI Scholarships for Global Professionals

Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World — Early-Career Fellowship

The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) supports female scientists in Sub-Saharan Africa and the Least Developed Countries (LDCs) with doctoral fellowships in the natural sciences. The early-career fellowships are for the pursuit of a doctoral degree at a host institution in a developing country that is not the applicant’s home country. The Fellowship is for two years and provides up to US$50 thousand. Applicants should be qualified young women science graduates (generally below 40 years of age), who have an M.Sc. degree or outstanding B.Sc. in the natural sciences. The eligible scientific fields include agricultural sciences; biological systems and organisms; and many others. The deadline for submission of applications is 14 March 2024. OWSD Early-Career Fellowship

British Council — Scholarships for Women in STEM

The British Council launches a scholarship program in partnership with UK universities to benefit women from the Americas, South Asia, South East Asia, Egypt, Turkey, and Ukraine. The scholarship provides women with a background in STEM with financial support to inspire future generations of women to pursue careers in STEM. Applications should be made directly to the participating universities. Application deadlines vary between courses, with the last deadline on 05 April 2024. Women in STEM Scholarship

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing — Science Reporting Award

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) awards the Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award. The award recognizes the accomplishments of a mid-career science journalist. The winner receives US$20 thousand to undertake a significant reporting project. Candidates must be experienced journalists who have compiled a substantial body of work in science journalism. The deadline for submissions is 30 April 2024. CASW Science Reporting Award

University of Bonn — SDG Fellowships

The University of Bonn invites international postdoctoral fellows for a joint research project on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The scientists will research and teach together with a professor from the University of Bonn for one or two semesters. The university seeks collaborations with universities and research institutes in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. Post-doctoral researchers invited by a professor of the University of Bonn for a joint research project are eligible. The funding can cover a travel allowance, a scholarship of €3 thousand per month, and a research expense allowance of up to €500 per month. The application must be submitted by a full-time professor at the University of Bonn together with the fellow. The submission deadline is 30 April 2024. Bonn SDG Fellowships

Mastercard Foundation — Scholars Program at KNUST

The Mastercard Foundation provides economically disadvantaged young people in Ghana and Africa with access to university education. The Scholars Program at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology (Ghana) provides financial support (tuition, accommodation, learning materials, transportation, and monthly stipend) for studies in all subject areas; however, there is a preference for science students (including agriculture and natural resources). Applicants must prove critical economic needs to be eligible. Applications close on 31 May 2024. Scholars Program at KNUST