The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

United Nations — Local Pathways Fellowship

The UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network – Youth Initiative (SDSN Youth) recruits participants for its 2024 cohort of the Local Pathways Fellows. The 10-months fellowship program provides young leaders with a platform, capacity building, training opportunities and contacts of leading development experts and practitioners. The Local Pathways Fellowship is unpaid. Fellows will benefit from global visibility and exposure. Young candidates (18-30 years) working towards achieving any of the Sustainable Development Goals and representing any city or country in the world are encouraged to apply. Applications will be accepted until 22 January 2024. Link to Local Pathways

University of Chicago — Science Journalism Program

The Logan Science Journalism Program offers science journalists, writers, editors, and broadcast journalists a chance to immerse themselves in basic biomedical or environmental research. Journalists selected for the program receive research training at the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) in Woods Hole, Massachusetts. The fellowship covers room, board, course fees, and travel. Preference will be given to applicants who do not have significant prior scientific research experience. Foreign nationals are eligible to apply. The deadline to apply is 25 January 2024. Logan Science Journalism Program

United Nations Academic Impact — Millennium Fellowship

The Millennium Fellowship is a semester-long leadership development program with access to training, connections, and recognition. The program will run on campuses worldwide from August to November where cohorts of 8-20 Millennium Fellows have been selected. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and be enrolled in a college or university. The Millennium Fellowship is open for undergraduate students only. The final application deadline is 30 January 2024. Millennium Fellowship

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives — Community Projects in El Salvador

The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives invites proposals that meet the needs of local communities in El Salvador. The priorities under this call include environment, climate action focusing on adaptation and mitigation, and water management. Project funding is C$30 thousand to C$40 thousand. Eligibility extends to local community organizations, non-profit organizations, and academic institutions. The deadline for submission is 31 January 2024. CFLI El Salvador

Borlaug Global Rust Initiative — Support for Women in Wheat Research

The Borlaug Global Rust Initiative (BGRI) offers the Jeanie Borlaug Laube award for the professional development of women working on wheat research during the early stages of their careers. The award is made only to women. Priority is given to women at the pre-professoriate level.​ The application deadline is 31 January 2024. About the early-career award

ETH Zurich — Doctoral Mentorship Program

The ETH for Development (ETH4D) provides grants for mentoring doctoral candidates from low- and lower-middle-income countries. Doctoral candidates profit from research stays of up to 3 months at ETH Zurich. The grant covers expenses up to a maximum of CHF 15 thousand. Eligibility extends to doctoral candidates who are registered at a university or research institute in any low- or middle-income country. There are four application deadlines per year: 31 January, 30 April, 30 June, 31 October. ETH4D Doctoral Mentorship Program

German Academic Exchange Service — In-Region Southeast Asia Scholarships 2023/2024

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and SERCA offer MS and PhD scholarships in agriculture at partner universities in Southeast Asia. The scholarship is open to nationals from Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Malaysia, Philippines, Timor-Leste, Thailand, and Vietnam planning to pursue graduate studies in development-related fields. The scholarship covers tuition, study and research allowance, food and accommodation, in-region travel, and insurance. The deadline for application is 10 January 2024. DAAD Scholarship

MIT — Knight Science Journalism Fellowship Program

The Knight Science Journalism Program at MIT offers academic-year fellowships to science journalists. Fellows will be able to leverage the resources and connections available to them at MIT and in the surrounding greater Boston area. The research project must be journalism related. Fellows receive a US$85 thousand stipend paid out in installments over 9.5 months. The program is designed for journalists from around the world. International candidates are encouraged to apply. Applications close 15 January 2024. KSJ Fellowship

Kubota Fund — Academic Training Program

The Kubota Fund announces a grant program for research analysts, trainees and students from developing countries who join academic or training programs provided by research/educational institutes or private enterprises located in Japan. The Fund provides financial aid (from ¥80 thousand to ¥100 thousand per month) to students, trainees, and researchers for pursuing academic degrees or research at educational or research institutes and business enterprises. Training or research on technologies for developing countries (especially civil engineering, electricity, machinery, agriculture, environment, energy, development economy) at companies or organizations in Japan is supported. Applicants must be nationals of a developing country. The application deadline is 17 January 2024. Kubota Fund

Sigma Awards — Prize for Data Journalism

The Sigma Awards invite entries of published work in all areas of data journalism, including the topic environment. The winners will split a cash prize of US$5 thousand. Entries must be for work published in 2023, but can be submitted by large or small newsrooms as well as individuals from all over the world. The application deadline is 17 January 2024. Sigma Awards