The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

OPEC Fund — Annual Award for Development

The OPEC Fund honors outstanding contributions to sustainable development. Each year, the annual award recognizes a different theme of particular relevance to global development. In 2023, the theme is “Gender Equality and Climate Action”. The prize is US$100 thousand. The nominee must be a charitable organization. Deadline to submit nominations is 12 May 2023. OPEC Annual Award for Development

International Nature Image Festival — Biodiversity Short Films Contest

The International Nature Image Festival (FIIN) invites submissions of short films (duration 5-28 minutes) that promote biological natural heritage, natural regions, ecosystems, habitats and species of wild fauna and flora. All formats including animations, documentaries, fiction, experimental films and music videos are eligible. There are no regional restrictions for participation in the contest. The best short film will be awarded €4 thousand. The deadline to submit cinematographic works is 14 July 2023. Find more information

World Academy of Sciences — TWAS Arab Regional Award

The TWAS Regional Awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to popularize science, and have developed new strategies that serve the popularization of science and technology in developing countries. The winner will receive a US$3,000 cash award. Eligibility extends to Arab scientists with significant research achievements in the field of Science and Technology. Self nominations are not allowed. All nominations must be received by 12 June 2023. Details here

Startup SG — Global Startup Competition

Startup SG seeks global startups to compete in the Slingshot 2023 Global Startup Competition. Entries to the competition need to present game-changing innovation in one of four challenge categories, including Sustainability (e.g., Agriculture, Clean Energy, Food, or Green Technology). The Top 100 Global Startups will pitch to a global audience and compete for cash and grant prizes worth up to S$200 thousand. Interested participants have to register on the platform by 17 July 2023. Link to Slingshot

Hello Tomorrow — Asia Pacific Challenge

The Hello Tomorrow Challenge gives deep-tech and science-based entrepreneurs a platform for their projects, providing opportunities and connections with key players. Hello Tomorrow seeks early-stage startups in Asia Pacific that use advanced technology to answer societal or industrial challenges. The challenge includes one category for startups that focus on energy, food, agriculture & environment, among 10 others. The grand prize is S$30 thousand for the best early-stage startup. The application process closes on 24 July 2023. Asia Pacific Challenge

African Impact Initiative — Business Challenge

The African Impact Challenge supports early-stage African entrepreneurs. In 2023, the challenge focuses on South Africa. Top performing teams will receive up to US$25 thousand in either grant funding or a simple agreement for future equity investment. Projects and business ideas can focus on any sector as long as they are impact-focused entrepreneurship as a means of livelihood. The idea should address an identified problem/challenge and provide a comprehensive solution using a technology component. Registration for the 2023 challenge closes on 15 April 2023. African Impact Challenge

WWF Nepal — Conservation Awards 2023

The World Wildlife Fund (WWF) recognizes and honors individuals and organizations at the grassroots level that have made significant contributions to protect Nepal’s rich biodiversity. WWF Nepal welcomes nominations for Conservation Awards 2023 from Nepali individuals and/or organizations working in the field of conservation and natural resource management. Up to three awards will be made to individuals (Rs. 50 thousand) and organizations (Rs. 100 thousand). Nominations should be submitted by 21 April 2023. More about the Conservation Awards

Association of Southeast Asian Nations — ASEAN Prize 2023

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) invites nominations for the ASEAN Prize 2023. The prize acknowledges ASEAN citizens or ASEAN-based organizations that have made outstanding contributions to ASEAN’s community building efforts. The winner receives a trophy and a cash prize of US$20 thousand. All nominations must be submitted to the respective ASEAN National Focal Points by 28 April 2023. ASEAN Prize 2023

Africa Soft Power Project — Climate Change Photo Essay Prize

The Climate Change Photo Essay is open to young people aged 18 to 30 from Africa and its diaspora. Entrants are asked to submit a photo essay of three to five photographs that tell a cohesive story and address climate change in their communities. Winners will have their work shown at a curated exhibition. The prize is open for entries until 30 April 2023. Photo Essay Prize

World Academy of Sciences — TWAS-Abdool Karim Prize in Biological Sciences

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) invites nominations for the Abdool Karim Prize in Biological Sciences. The prize aims to recognize scientists for their achievements in Biological Sciences. Eligible nominees are female scientists national of a low-income African country. The prize is a US$5 thousand cash award. Nominations should be submitted electronically before 15 May 2023. Award in Biological Sciences