The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation Program

South-South capacity building for professionals from the developing world

Principal Office: India

The Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation Programme (ITEC) is administered by India’s Development Partnership Administration, within the Ministry of External Affairs. ITEC operates bilaterally with partner countries across the developing world, and it participates in several regional and multilateral cooperation groups.

India is a pioneer and strong proponent of South-South cooperation. The main role of ITEC is building the capacity of individuals from partner countries, who are funded to travel to India for specialized courses and study tours. Additionally, ITEC funds Indian experts to share their expertise elsewhere in the developing world. Other forms of ITEC support include feasibility and consultancy services; equipment donations; and provision of humanitarian and disaster relief.

Grant Programs for Agriculture, Energy, Environment, Natural Resources

1– Civilian Training Program. The Civilian Training Program offers professional training at over 40 institutions in India for applicants from Asia, Africa, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Pacific and Small Island countries.

The Program accepts applications through ITEC and its sister program SCAAP (Special Commonwealth African Assistance Program).

The Indian institutions (“centers of excellence”) that offer the training include several in the thematic area of environment and renewable energy. Additional institutions offer training in water resources and hydrology; fertilizer management; remote sensing; and others.

Applicants to the Program are nationals of ages 25-45 in ITEC/SCAAP partner countries.

About programs

APPLICATION: ITEC/SCAAP jointly publish an annual training brochure that lists courses and related training opportunities. The website posts an application form.

Each applicant needs his/her employer to approve the application. The employer forwards the completed application to India’s embassy or high commission. Applications need to reach the respective embassy or high commission at least three months in advance of the course dates.

About how to apply

2 — Experts from India. Governments in ITEC and SCAAP partner countries can apply for the technical services of experts from India.

APPLICATION: Government applicants fill out a request form. This includes a description of the project; the intended role of the Indian expert; and the required qualifications of the expert in terms of experience and education.

The requests are submitted to the Indian embassy or high commission.

Link to application form

Geographical Distribution of Grant Activities in Developing Countries

The following are partner countries in ITEC and SCAAP, organized in the regional structure of the Terra Viva Grants Directory.

Southeast Asia and Pacific Islands: Cambodia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, Kiribati, Laos, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam

East Asia: Mongolia, North Korea

South Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka

Eurasia and Central Asia: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan

Eastern Europe and Russia: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine

Middle East and North Africa: Algeria, Bahrain, Brunei, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Syria, Tunisia

Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Dem Rep Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Latin America and Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

Note: ITEC recognizes a few additional partners not listed in this Directory for reasons that they are in the EU, have high income, or are British overseas territories (i.e., not classified as countries).

ITEC links to India’s diplomatic missions in ITEC partner countries.

India’s International Cooperation Division (Science & Technology) offers several types of fellowships for scientists and researchers in developing countries in collaboration with India.

March 2021