The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

Commonwealth Foundation

Grants to strengthen civil society organizations in Commonwealth countries for participatory governance in sustainable development

Principal Office: UK

The Commonwealth Foundation works to enhance the role of civil society organizations by strengthening their institutional and human capacity — and by creating opportunity for dialogue, collaboration, replication of good practices, and learning.

The Foundation is open to all members of the 53 Commonwealth countries.

Grant Programs for Agriculture, Energy, Environment, Natural Resources

Grants to civil society for participatory governance. The Commonwealth Foundation makes grants for projects that contribute to effective, responsive, and accountable governance with civil society participation.

Grants support a wide range of subject areas in grassroots development, including topics related to agriculture and environment. Environmental sustainability is one of three cross-cutting themes.

The grants program is open to civil society organizations (CSOs) in the Foundation’s eligible member countries. Grants are up to £50 thousand per year for projects of up to three years. Applicants need to provide at least 10% counterpart funds.

APPLICATION: The Commonwealth Foundation posts calls for applications. It posts eligibility criteria; an application form; and a submission deadline.

About grants, and how to apply

Geographical Distribution of Grant Activities in Developing Countries

Southeast Asia and Pacific Islands: Brunei, Kiribati, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga

South Asia: Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Sub-Saharan Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

Latin America and Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago

The Foundation posts its past grants.

The Knowledge Hub includes publications, videos, speeches, and other Commonwealth releases.

Contact Us offers an email form.

February 2021