The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

African Union

Research awards in subject areas that include agriculture, environment, and energy

Principal Office: International

The African Union (AU) was established in 2002 to promote international cooperation for the advancement of Africa’s integration and socioeconomic development. Member states in the AU are the Sub-Saharan countries, as well as some countries of North Africa. The AU is a grant maker through some of the directorates and departments that comprise the AU Commission (i.e., its executive secretariat).

Grant Programs for Agriculture, Energy, Environment, Natural Resources

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards. The Kwame Nkrumah Awards recognize and honor African scientists for their achievements. The awards are made in scientific fields that include agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and energy innovation (among others). The Kwame Nkrumah awards range from US$5 thousand to a maximum of US$100 thousand, varying by categories.

APPLICATION: The AU issues calls for applications through its Department of Human Resources, Science, and Technology (HRST). Review “Announcements” and “News and Events” for the calls.

Link to HRST

Geographical Distribution of Grant Activities in Developing Countries

The AU’s member states are identified below, using the regional structure of the Terra Viva Grants Directory.

Middle East and North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Western Sahara), Tunisia

Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Dem Rep Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

The AU’s main website is available in English, French, Portuguese, Kiswahili, and Arabic.

Some of the AU’s directorates and departments may offer grants.

February 2021