The Terra Viva Grants Directory brings free funding information to the developing world. Please consider making a donation to support our operations.

The Terra Viva Grants Directory develops and manages information about grants for agriculture, energy, environment, and natural resources in the world's developing countries.

Convention on Migratory Species

Small grants and thesis awards in support of conserving migratory species on a global basis

Principal Office: International

The Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) is an inter-governmental treaty that aims to conserve terrestrial, aquatic, and avian migratory species throughout their range on a global scale. The Convention’s Secretariat is provided by the United Nations Environment Program at the UN’s offices in Bonn, Germany. The Convention is sometimes referred to as the Bonn Convention on Migratory Species.

The CMS addresses migratory species threatened with extinction (Appendix I of the Convention), as well as species that need or would significantly benefit from international cooperation (Appendix II of the Convention).

The participating range states work towards species conservation through global and regional legal agreements, and through less formal memoranda of understanding, varying case by case.

Grant Programs for Agriculture, Energy, Environment, Natural Resources

The CMS includes a small grants program to strengthen implementation of the Convention, and it makes a thesis award for outstanding research on migratory species.

Small Grants Program. The CMS makes grants for field conservation; regional and national cooperation; capacity building; and awareness building in support of migratory species needing protection.

The program is open to applicants in countries that have ratified the Convention, that are below 0.200 in the UN Scale of Assessment, and that are not more than three years in arrears with their contributions.

Applications can be submitted by governmental institutions, NGOs, communities, conservationists, and researchers.

Grants do not exceed €15 thousand for projects of up to two years.

APPLICATION: When funding is available, CMS posts an announcement, program guidelines, eligibility criteria, application and budget forms, and additional supporting information (English, French, and Spanish).

Applications must be endorsed by the national CMS focal points in the eligible countries where activities will take place. CMS provides their names and contact information.

About the small grants, and how to apply

(Observation: The fund has not been active since 2014.)

Geographical Distribution of Grant Activities in Developing Countries

The following developing countries are eligible for small grants from the CMS (as of July 2013), applying the regional geographic framework of the Terra Viva Grants Directory.

Southeast Asia and Pacific Islands: Cook Islands, Fiji, Palau, Philippines, Samoa

East Asia: Mongolia

South Asia: Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Eurasia and Central Asia: Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

Eastern Europe and Russia: Albania, Belarus, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine

North Africa and Middle East: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Yemen

Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo, Cote D’Ivoire, Dem Rep Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Somalia, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe

Latin America and Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

The Secretariat of the CMS posts contact information for its Secretariat, as well as its national focal points and members of the scientific council in countries which are parties to the Convention.